Raeder's Raiders Spirit Award

College football in the 1950s was played much differently than it is today.  There were 2 units that played - offense and defense - comprised exclusively of upperclassmen.  During the 1959 Michigan football season, Coach Bump Elliot created a third unit of sophomores led by J. Paul Raeder and collectively known as "Raeder's Raiders".  They quickly became favorites of fans, teammates, and coaches because of their hard-nosed, inspired play.  Time and time again, the Raiders provided a valuable spark to the entire team while coming off the bench.  Their philosophy was Be Prepared, Have a Great Attitude, Have Fun and Seize your Moment, and decades later that still resonates in college sports.

2019 Raeder's Raiders Spirit Award recipient, Maddy Abbott with Amy Stevens of the Letterwinners M Club and Andy Raeder.

The Raeder's Raiders Spirit Award was established in 2005 by the Raeder family to commemorate J. Paul Raeder (Football, 1957-1961), who passed away in 2004.  This award is presented annually by the Letterwinners M Club to the University of Michigan student-athlete who demonstrates character, teamwork, dedication, perseverance, and intensity in athletic performance while coming off the bench.  Student-athletes from all sports who have earned a varsity letter are eligible to be nominated for the Raeder’s Raiders Spirit Award by their head coach or appointed representative of the program.  The nominees are voted on by the board of directors of the Letterwinners M Club.

Raeder's Raiders Award Winners
2019    Maddy Abbott, Volleyball and Isiah Livers, Men's Basketball
2018    Sam Piazza, Ice Hockey
2017    Ally Davis, Volleyball
2016    Nick Renberg, Men's Cross Country
2015    Carly Warner, Volleyball
2014    Spike Albrecht, Men's Basketball
2013    April Newberry, Women's Crew
2012    Michelle McMahon, Volleyball
2011    Shawn Hunwick, Ice Hockey
2010    Courtney Boylan, Women's Basketball
2009    C.J. Lee, Men's Basketball
2008    Vanessa Sekhon, Field Hockey
2007    Katie Bohard, Women's Soccer
2006    Candace Gay, Volleyball

Only head coaches and their designees may nominate student-athletes for consideration of the Raeder's Raiders Award.  All submissions must be made using the the official nomination form, found HERE, and received no later than March 1, 2020.  

Please direct any questions to the Nominations & Awards Committee of the Letterwinners M Club via email at letterwinnersmclub@umich.edu.