Ufer Award

Since 1981, the Ufer Award has been presented each year to a Letterwinners M Club member in recognition of his or her outstanding service
to the University of Michigan and the Letterwinners M Club.

If you would like to nominate someone for a Ufer Award, please email the Letterwinners M Club at letterwinnersmclub@umich.edu or call (734) 936-0831.
Deadline for 2021 nominations is March 31, 2021.

2020 Ufer Award

Since 1981, the Ufer Award has been presented each year to a Letterwinners M Club member in recognition of their outstanding service to the University of Michigan and the Letterwinners M Club.  Our 2020 Honoree, Fritz Seyferth, perfectly illustrates that specific quality.

A walk-on to the 1968 Michigan football team, Fritz earned his first Varsity M in 1969 under first year head coach Bo Schembechler.  He was part of the team responsible for the historic victory over Ohio State in 1969 that is recognized as the turning point for Michigan Football.  Hard work and dedication aided him in continued improvement during his career at Michigan, eventually becoming a starter and scoring a touchdown in the 1972 Rose Bowl.  Drafted in 1972 by the New York Giants, Fritz enjoyed a short professional career with the Calgary Stampeders of the CFL.  He graduated in 1973 from the College of Engineering.

In 1979 Fritz left a solid career with Arthur Young in New York City to return to Ann Arbor and join Bo's coaching staff.   He was intrigued by the opportunity to observe success and leadership daily and apply an engineer's mind to the process.  That began two decades of service to Michigan Athletics; he retired in 2000 as Executive Associate Athletic Director.  Fritz then focused on his passion by founding FS/A, his Team Building/Leadership Coaching business that works with organizations and individuals to elevate them to their natural best, in 2002.  Concurrently, from 2002-2009, he helped create now Frankel Cardiovascular Center, part of the U-M Health System, raising over $100 million in gifts.

Fritz is dedicated to FS/A.  He uses what he learned from inside Michigan Athletics to coach others to achieve.  Over the past couple of years, the M Club Board of Directors has worked on our strategic planning to position us for the future.  Fritz generously lent his talents to the Board to create our path to peak performance so we can better serve our members.  

Enthusiastic, optimistic, loyal and hardworking are adjectives used to describe the Legendary Bob Ufer, and the same can said for Fritz Seyferth.  While addressing new varsity athletes at a Letterjacket Ceremony in 2019 he said, " You will never come in contact with a network of people that you have as much in common with as the network you are joining tonight.  We are a part of something bigger than ourselves, and our legacy is tied to each other."  From walk-on to Letterwinner to Coach to Athletic Director, Fritz has lived with a great passion for the Maize and Blue; or as Bob Ufer might say, he is a true "Meechigan Man."


2020    Fritz Seyferth
2019    Mike McGuire
2018    Bruce Madej
2017    Sheryl Szady
2016    Stephen M. Ross
2015    James Henry
2014    Jim Keen
2013    Al Glick
2012    Mark Churella
2011    Jim Mandich
2010    Dick Honig
2009    Tim Wadhams
2008    Lloyd Carr
2007    Woodward A. "Chip" Warrick Jr.
2006    Carol Hutchins
2005    Jon Urbanchek
2004    Ronald J. Kramer
2003    William C. Martin
2002    Richard M. Leach Sr.
2001    Michael R. Shatusky
2000    Richard J. Kimball
1999    Gordon R. "Jack" Harvey
1998    Gordon A. "Red" Berenson
1997    Wallace D. Grant
1996    Donald A. Lund
1995    Jerry F. Hanlon
1994    Glenn E. "Bo" Schembechler
1993    Allan M. Renfrew
1992    Robert G. Forman
1991    Don W. Robinson
1990    Kenneth "Red" Simmons
1989    Roger Zatkoff
1988    Howard L. Wikel
1987    David F. Rentschler
1986    Donald B. Canham
1985    Clifford P. Keen
1984    Paul G. Goebel Sr.
1983    Newton C. Loken
1982    Douglas F. Roby
1981    Robert P. Ufer, Sr.